A few boxes need to be checked on your vehicle’s maintenance list before you can safely drive on Florida roads. This involves brake lights, horns, windows, signals, and other equipment and ensuring they are in proper working condition. Otherwise, law enforcement has grounds to pull you over and issue a ticket.
However, if you believe you unfairly received a traffic ticket, contact a Miami traffic attorney for assistance.
Cars are required to have two braking systems, and each must be able to stop the vehicle on their own. The parking and emergency brakes need to be strong enough to hold cars on hills and allow for stops within the appropriate amount of distance. If brake issues were not a factor in an accidental red light, but you still received a ticker, a red light camera violation attorney may be able to help.
All vehicles are required to have the following lights:
Bright (high-beam) headlights
Dimmed (low-beam) headlights
Two red taillights mounted to the rear
One white light that allows for license visibility
Two red spotlights that are visible in the daylight and turn on when the foot brake is pressed
Other necessary components of proper vehicle operating parts include working horns, windshield wipers, safe windshields (not treated with any material, must not be covered, and must be free of stickers not required by law), blinkers must be in operation, and your car must have one rearview mirror.
Keeping your car in top working condition will help prevent you from maintenance and safety issues, as well as traffic tickets.
While those 16 and older can drive alone once they have a driver’s license, Florida law has curfews in place for young drivers. These laws are supposed to reduce the risk of accidents while driving and promote safety among teen drivers. Curfew laws apply to teens ages 15 (learner’s license) to 17 years of age.
Those with a learner’s license are only permitted to drive during daylight hours for the first three months following the issuance of a learner’s license. After the first three-month period, drivers with a learner’s license may drive until ten at night. Drivers with a learner’s license must have a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older with them at all times.
16-year-olds with a valid driver’s license are not permitted to drive between 11 pm and 6 am. Exceptions to this law are if the driver is returning from or driving to work or if there is a licensed driver aged 21 years or older present.
Drivers with a valid driver’s license at 17 years old are not permitted to drive between 1 am and 5 am. Exceptions to this rule remain the same as 16-year-old privileges – unless accompanied by a driver aged 21 years or older or is driving to and from work.
This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. A Miami traffic attorney may be able to assist you with criminal traffic violations, and our team is ready to answer your questions. Please call 305-515-5284 to speak with a red light camera violation attorney today.
If you recently received a speeding ticket, you will probably have the option to take defensive driving to reduce points added to your license. Defensive driving courses allow drivers to learn more about the possible hazards on the road, how to anticipate them, and how to respond safely. It is a relatively low-cost option and will likely cost less than your traffic ticket. There is always room to learn more about driving and to refresh your knowledge. Still, if you have never taken it, you may have some questions.
If you recently received a traffic ticket and defensive driving is not an option for you, contact a Miami traffic ticket lawyer.
How long do I have to take defensive driving? You have 30 days upon receiving a ticket to pay fines to the Clerk of Court in the Florida county where you were issued the ticket. After paying fines and choosing a traffic school, you have from 60 to 120 to complete the course, depending on the county.
Am I still required to pay fines for my ticket? Yes, you must pay fines for the ticket within 30 days of receiving the ticket.
Can I take defensive driving for two tickets at the same time? No, you are only able to take defensive driving for one ticket, therefore you should choose the ticket that will end up giving you the most points.
Can I get points removed from my driving record? Typically you are not able to remove points from a Florida Drivers License. Defensive driving allows you to avoid points. Your case will remain open until you complete the course. Upon completion of the course, your case is closed and replaced with an Adjudication WIthheld status.
If you also have a red light ticket, a red light camera violation attorney at Hochman & Goldin may be able to help. Visit us online for more details or to request a consultation.
School is back for Floridians across the state and a special set of driving laws along with it. Roads will undoubtedly become more crowded in school zones, with the highest times for traffic being the morning and afternoon. There will also be a large increase of pedestrians, cyclists, and school busses that drivers should be cautious of in and around school zones.
A recent AAA survey found that fifty-six percent of drivers pass a school zone on their daily commute, but that they also engage in risk behaviors when driving, such as speeding in active school zones and using cell phones while driving through those zones. If you are facing a traffic ticket, a Miami traffic ticket lawyer may be able to help.
Aside from speeding and the use of cell phones, many drivers do not heed the warnings and laws associated with school busses. Drivers must stop when approaching a school bus with red flashing lights on and the STOP arms out. However, nearly twenty-eight percent of Florida drivers drive around buses in these circumstances or cut off a bus because of its low speed. However, if you were given a traffic ticket in these circumstances, a Miami expungement attorney may be able to remove the ticket from your record.
Both two-lane and multi-lane paved across medians are areas that require drivers to stop for a school bus. However, in a divided highway, vehicles driving the opposite way across the highway do not need to stop but instead should yield.
Drinking and driving is a serious matter in Florida. In most instances of DUI charges, you will be responsible for paying fines and may have your vehicle impounded, and in some cases, jail time. What happens as a result of your DUI depends on the situation (such as blood alcohol content, or BAC, at the time, refusing to take a breath test, or having a minor in the vehicle). Another common consequence of a DUI in Florida is license suspension.
Many cases of DUIs will need an attorney. A Miami traffic attorney may be able to help.
In each case of a DUI, even when a license is suspended, the outcome, as to when you may be able to have your license back, differs based upon factors such as prior convictions. Florida law states that a first conviction lasts anywhere from 180 days to one year, while second convictions can run five years. If you have a third conviction, then you are facing ten years of suspension.
However, once your suspension has reached the end of its time, it is important to follow these steps to get your license back at the DMV.
There will be reinstatement and administrative fees. Make sure you pay for these on time.
You will be required to provide proof of completion of a substance abuse treatment program or DUI school if ordered by a judge.
Provide proof of insurance.
Attend all court days and carefully follow instructions or mandates from the court, such as community service hours. If you have not completed what was appointed by a judge in court, you will not be able to get your license back.
License suspension can be a hassle, but it is important to remember to follow ordinances given by a judge. If you have questions regarding other license suspension or other traffic violations, contact a red light camera violation attorney at Hochman & Goldin, P.A.
Any vehicle that comes to a stop sign is required by law to come to a complete stop. There are minor penalties for failure to stop at a stop sign, typically resulting in a fine between 70 and 200 dollars. However, if there are added variables to the scenario, like school and construction zones, penalties can be much higher. You will also have points added to your license, causing insurance rates to rise.
Sometimes it is difficult to prove whether you stopped at the stop sign, but what if you know you are innocent? Here are some possible ways a Miami traffic attorney can help you prove your innocence.
Prove it was justified: sometimes, you may need to forgo the stop sign to stay clear of a dangerous vehicle. If this is the case, you can admit to running the stop sign but emphasize that it was done to keep out of harm’s way.
Challenge the subjectivity of the situation: Though many judges tend to side with officers in these cases, if you believe you did make the required stop, you can provide eyewitness testimony, or challenge the point of view, literally. Maybe what the officer saw from their perspective was that you roll through the stop sign, but in reality, you stopped 20 feet from the line. Be sure to take pictures of the perspective on both ends if possible.
Mistake of fact: to receive a ticket, you must have broken the law. If the stop sign was not in plain sight, hidden by foliage or something else, you could argue that you did not see it.
If you wish to contest your ticket, contact a red light camera violation attorney at Hochman & Goldin P.A. before pursuing a case.
This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided during an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.
The law in Florida states that there is no one automatic situation in which a person may have the right of way. Instead, Florida law only states those who must yield (in other words, give up) the right of way to another. Each driver, motorcyclist, moped driver, cyclist, and pedestrian must pay attention and yield the right of way to avoid a crash in every situation.
At stop signs, the right of way is yielded to other traffic and pedestrians, and drivers should only proceed forward if the road is clear. Four-way stops indicate that the first vehicle to stop is the one that will move forward first. If there happen to be two cars at one intersection at a time, the driver on the left should yield right of way to the one on the right.
At open intersections (ones without traffic control signals), everyone must yield right of way for vehicles already in the intersection, or when you enter a state highway from a secondary road, entering a paved road from an unpaved one, or if drivers make left turns while vehicles are oncoming from the other direction.
If you are at a roundabout, you may not be required to stop since these spaces are designed to have vehicles move continuously through the intersections. Vehicles that approach the roundabout must yield right of way to circulating traffic.
This update is brought to you by Hochman & Goldin, P.A. A Miami traffic attorney can assist you with criminal traffic violations, and our team is ready to answer your questions. Please call 305-515-5284 to speak with a red light camera violation attorney today.
Traffic violations, both large and small, occur every day and range from minor offenses to serious charges like misdemeanors and felonies. Not everyone in their life will run into issues with traffic violations – some will face minor charges while others may face jail time, depending on the offense. While smaller violations are common, there are a few larger offenses that unfortunately are too. A Miami expungement attorney can help you fight your tickets and expunge your records where able.
Reckless driving happens when a diver is deemed inconsiderate of the safety of others, whether in another vehicle or a pedestrian. If someone flees or eludes a police officer, there is an automatic charge of reckless driving that they will receive, no matter the crime. Most charges will include fines upwards of $500 and 90 days of jail time, though they can vary depending on the severity of the incident.
A Miami traffic ticket lawyer can help with leaving the scene or hit and run incidents. Florida law requires you to stop after an accident to exchange insurance information and to administer reasonable assistance for any injuries where need be. Any accidents with at least $500 worth of damages must be reported to the police. If you do not, you will face misdemeanor or felony charges depending on how much damage occurred. A minimum of a misdemeanor with 90 days jail time and a fine of $500 will be given out, but penalties will be more severe if death or serious injuries occurred.
As defined by Florida law, failure to yield is when a driver fails to lower speed or come to a full stop for another vehicle or a pedestrian when it was needed. Everyone operating a vehicle must know local, state, and federal driving laws, and that includes the right information to know when yielding is needed. Drivers who fail to yield may receive a citation.
Tickets for failing to yield that is wrongly given out can be fought by a Miami traffic attorney.
Penalties for failing to yield will likely end up in a fine of up to $500 as long as no one was injured. However, if an accident did occur, the fine will be significantly more, and drivers may face reckless driving charges in addition to a failure to yield citation. If bad enough, this can cause drivers to have their licenses suspended, ultimately adding four points to their license and higher insurance rates.
You may still be able to defend your ticket with a red light camera violation attorney. As this can be a bit more of a grey area, there are some statutes that can cause multiple defenses for failing to yield and will vary per case. These would include poor visibility of lines and signs, if another driver broke the law or reckless driving from another driver, avoiding potential harm to the driver, other vehicles, and pedestrians.
There must be proof that a driver failed to yield to another vehicle or pedestrian. Many cases are based on the subjectivity of the police officer who handed out the ticket and can be fought in court if needed due to the subjective nature.
Florida law mandates that no person should drive under the influence of alcoholic beverages, chemical substances, or controlled substances. If such a case occurs, it will be considered a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charge. Proven impairment and unlawful blood alcohol levels (0.08 or above) can result in many high-stakes convictions.
A fine costing anywhere from $500 to $1,000 will be given under typical circumstances for the first conviction. If the blood alcohol level was higher than 0.15, or if a minor was in the vehicle, a fine of $1,000 to $2,000 will be issued. For the second conviction, a fine of $1,000 to $2,000 will be given out, and if the blood alcohol level was above 0.15, then fines are doubled, resulting in a charge from $2,000 to $4,000.
After a second offense, the charges and convictions increase exponentially. Fines increase to $5,000 but can be higher as that is only the allotted minimum when it is the fourth conviction. At the discretion of the court, sentences can result in imprisonment and/or abuse treatment programs that may be used toward the detention term. You may also have your vehicle impounded or immobilized.
This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.
Hochman & Goldin, P.A., Miami traffic attorney, and red light camera violation attorney provides assistance with criminal traffic violations. To learn more, please visit us online.