What You Should Know About Florida Texting and Driving Laws

Florida Texting and Driving Laws

According to Florida state law, police are allowed to pull over vehicles and issue tickets to people who are texting while driving. According to the legislation, it is illegal to manually type several letters, numbers, or symbols into a wireless communication device to send an email, text message, or any other type of message while operating a motor vehicle.

Distracted driving is also covered by these laws. Distracted driving, also known as visual, manual, and cognitive driver distractions, is described as anything that causes you to take your hands off the wheel, your eyes off the road, or even your mind from driving cautiously.

Texting while driving is a problem since it combines all three forms of distracted driving and is therefore dangerous. Although the first offense has a base fine of $30, you can expect to pay approximately $129, once court surcharges are added on. This is classified as a non-moving traffic violation and there are no points assessed to your driver’s license for this violation. If there are any violations, the initial one might set the tone for others, so hiring a Miami traffic attorney to defend your rights can help you avoid serious consequences down the road.

The second offense, committed within five years of the first, carries a $60 fine, with surcharges that will end up costing you approximately $179, for a moving traffic violation and results in the addition of three points to your license. Texting while driving in work and school zones is a moving traffic infraction that carries a $179 fine and three license points. All work and school zones are considered ‘hands-free’ zones so put the phone down in these areas, even if you aren’t texting.

If you have a traffic ticket you would like to fight, such as a speeding ticket, contact a Miami traffic attorney. If you have reason to believe you unfairly received a red light ticket, contact a red light camera violation attorney.

Upload Ticket for Attorney Review

    Easier for you to text? Send a photo of the citation to (305) 990-8458.


    Uploading a ticket does not create an agreement of representation by our firm. You will receive confirmation that we have accepted your case and we will contact you for payment arrangements.