Tag Archives: miami expungement attorney

Are Drivers Required to Maintain a Minimum Speed?

speedingOn the Florida roadways, drivers that are moving slowly are expected to remain in the right lane to ensure better traffic flow. Realistically speaking, most drivers don’t follow this rule. So, what happens if a driver is moving well below the posted speed limit? Are they required to maintain a minimum speed?

The minimum speed limit is 50 mph while traveling in a posted 70 mph zone. On that note, a 65 mph zone would require doing a minimum speed of 40 mph. For drivers that decide not to travel the posted speed limit and prefer to drive at a slower pace, they should refrain from driving in the left lane so that faster drivers can move or pass easily.

It is against the law to impede traffic flow and it is possible to receive a traffic ticket for doing so. The minimum speed limits exist as a way to keep traffic flowing smoothly. A driver doing 70 who suddenly comes upon one that is doing 30 can result in a potentially fatal car crash.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak with a Miami expungement attorney.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Passing a School Bus May Soon Result in Greater Penalties

schoolBusThe next time a driver passes a school bus with its stop sign displayed, they may be in for a pricier surprise. The Florida Senate was unanimous in its approval of a bill that would up the penalties for first-time offenders. Should the driver commit the offense again within a five year period, they would face another fine and may also have their license suspended for at least a year or as much as a year.

When a school bus has its stop sign displayed, drivers traveling in both directions are required to stop and wait as children exit the bus. Drivers must continue waiting until the school bus has completely retracted the stop sign.

Last year, the Department of Education evaluated school bus drivers regarding the illegal passing of their buses. The survey of more than 10,000 drivers found that in just one day, there were over 12,700 illegal passes.

Now that the school bus bill has passed the Florida Senate, it will be evaluated by Governor Ron DeSantis.

To read more, visit https://www.abcactionnews.com/news/state/florida-bill-would-double-penalties-for-drivers-not-stopping-for-school-buses.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak with a Miami expungement attorney.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Officers Are Issuing Lots of Texting While Driving Citations

teen-girl-texting-while-drivingIt’s only been two months into 2020 and law enforcement officers have already written over 300 citations since Florida “upgraded” its texting while driving law into a primary offense. More than 100 drivers have been cited in four of South Florida’s counties in January alone.

The texting while driving law went into effect in July of last year. However, a six-month grace period of sorts was implemented to allow drivers time to acclimate and understand the new law. During this time, officers issued driver warnings versus citations. Before it became a primary offense, a driver had to be stopped for another reason like speeding before they could be issued a citation for texting while driving. Now, however, if an officer spots a driver texting while they are behind the wheel, they can be stopped regardless of whether or not they’re speeding.

Receiving a citation for texting while driving costs about $30 in addition to court fees. Should a driver be caught a second time, the cost increases to $60, the court gees, plus a trio of points on the driver’s license.

To read more, visit https://www.wptv.com/news/region-c-palm-beach-county/115-drivers-cited-for-texting-and-driving-in-4-south-florida-counties-for-1st-month-of-2020.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak with a Miami expungement attorney.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Driving Slow in the Left Lane

adult-automotive-blur-car-13861An effective way to quickly anger a South Florida driver is to drive behind a vehicle that is not keeping up with the flow of traffic. Drivers can become quite infuriated when they have to slam on the brakes when they’re traveling in the left lane because a driver is going too slow. Often this vehicle is traveling at the speed limit or below it, and will not move into the right lane even if the driver behind them politely flashes their lights to get them to move.

Florida Statute 316.081 states that slower vehicles are required to yield to those that are moving faster, but many drivers either fail to do so or are unaware of this. According to the Florida Highway Patrol, over 40,000 citations were issued between 2014 to 2019 due to drivers running afoul of the law.

Could permanent signs on the road stating “slower traffic keep right” help with reminding drivers what they’re supposed to do? You may have seen this message or something similar to it on the electronic signs found on the highways, but these messages are only temporary.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak with a Miami expungement attorney.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Florida Lawmakers Want to Reinvent License Suspensions

andre-tan-5r-8e7Iouew-unsplash

 

 

According to a Tampa Bay Times article, over a million people in Florida have had their license suspended due to fines associated with things like being unable to pay for court fees. With areas such as South Florida practically demanding the use of a vehicle to get around within a reasonable time, it can make it harder for people that are looking to rebuild their lives after they’ve been released from prison, for example.

A pair of Florida lawmakers are now looking to cease the trend of suspending licenses for drivers unable to pay by spearheading HB 903. Should the bill pass, Florida would join a few other states like Kentucky that have done away with driver licenses suspension penalties. It’s important to note, however, that this doesn’t necessarily mean drivers are off the hook. Drivers would be able to set up a payment plan that would vary based on the driver’s income each month or a monthly $10.

To read more, visit https://www.tampabay.com/florida-politics/buzz/2020/01/21/driving-while-poor-no-more-florida-lawmakers-consider-overhaul-of-license-suspensions/.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak with a Miami expungement attorney.

Are There Exceptions to the Texting While Driving Law?

textDrive3Florida’s texting while driving law has been in full effect for over thirteen days now, allowing law enforcement officers to give drivers a citation if they are caught. However, there are a couple of what-if scenarios that may occur, which you should be aware of if you’re concerned about running afoul of the law.

Let’s take an amber alert or calling the Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) to report activity that may be suspicious. Both of these require the use of a phone and can be mistaken as texting while driving. Thankfully, one of the Florida statutes has information addressing these concerns, ensuring that reporting emergencies or suspicious activity are not prohibited. The statute also extends to safety-related messages such as emergencies, traffic, or weather. If you do intend to call FHP, however, it may be best to err on the side of caution and pull over to make the call, once it’s safe to do so.

There are additional exceptions such as using your wireless communication device to navigate somewhere or radio broadcast messages.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak with a Miami expungement attorney.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

New Year’s Parking in Miami Beach

oceanDr (3)With the New Year’s Eve festivities happening soon, many people may be heading to Miami Beach to welcome the arrival of 2020. However, parking is notoriously difficult in the barrier island. A bit of parking advice may make the process easier to manage without getting too stressed.

When parking in one of the South Beach garages, you should know that all of them allow the option of using one the parking apps to pay, in this case ParkMobile. For those preferring cash, none of them accept bills over $20. They each have a minimum daily rate of $2 and a daily maximum rate of $20. However, the garage on 42nd Street is slightly different in that its maximum daily rate is $8.

If you happen to own an electric vehicle, there are a few charging stations at five public garages in Miami Beach, four of which are in the South Beach area.

In finding a parking spot, you may wish to use the power of an app like Google Maps to help you so that you’re not stressing out and driving around aimlessly trying to hunt for open parking. Google Maps can show you lots that are near attractions.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak with a Miami expungement attorney.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

 

Is It Okay for Drivers to Use out of State Disabled Placards?

disabledWith Thanksgiving happening this week, countless families will be reuniting to celebrate. In many cases, families will be driving in from out of town to spend the holiday in Florida with their friends and loved ones. If some of these families from another state happen to be disabled, will an issue arise if they are using an out of state disabled parking placard?

Those concerned about their loved ones running into trouble can rest assured that parents with a disability can use their legally issued disabled placard with little issue in Florida, regardless of what part of the country they may be from.

The only thing that needs to be taken care of is making sure that the placard is being used correctly. In Florida, this means hanging the placard from the rearview mirror when parking in a disabled spot. However, if the placard is one from out of state and it cannot be hanged for whatever reason, it simply needs to be easily visible when the vehicle is parked.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak with a Miami expungement attorney.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

The Return of Red Light Cameras

redLightRed-light cameras have largely been on their way out, but a pair of cities in South Florida are looking to do the opposite. Boynton Beach and Pembroke Pines are aiming to switch their red-light cameras on again, joining other cities like Sunrise and Davie in Broward County and several others in Miami-Dade that still use the cameras. Drivers that are caught running a red light may face a fine of about $158. However, if the fine goes unpaid within sixty days, it will become a traffic ticket, carrying larger fines of $250.

Among the reasoning these cities often use to justify the existence of red light cameras is the concern for public safety. However, a Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 2016 report revealed that red light intersection accidents increased by 10% compared to the previous year. Nevertheless, pedestrian-involved injuries dropped by nearly 20 percent.

Interestingly, in 2018, Boynton Beach decided to turn off their red-light cameras. With the decision to turn the cameras back on, it will be the only municipality in all of Palm Beach County to have a red light camera program up and running.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak with a Miami expungement attorney.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Driving with Medical Marijuana

marijuana-1Do you have a medical marijuana card? Even if you purchase the marijuana from a state-licensed dispensary, you should carry it with you at all times as it may be necessary if you are pulled over by police.

The legalization of hemp in Florida back in July introduced a law enforcement challenge to find out when to apprehend a driver or seize a drug, because hemp smells and appears similar to cannabis, and is smokeable. Officers make use of a field test that can distinguish between marijuana and hemp, but not Palm Beach or Miami-Dade where the substance is confiscated and checked in a licensed laboratory.

Patients with medical marijuana must be able to produce a valid medical marijuana card if they are stopped with a cannabis product in their vehicle. Choosing not to show the card to an officer is a violation of the law— a misdemeanor of the second degree.

For drivers charged with a violation, you should know that if you are able to produce a Florida medical marijuana registry card that was valid when the charge occurred, either before or at the time of court appearance, you can’t be convicted.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak with a Miami expungement attorney.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.