What Are the Driving Curfews in Florida for Teenagers?

What Are the Driving Curfews in Florida for Teenagers?

Although those who are 16 years old and older can drive alone once they have a driver’s license, young drivers in Florida are subject to curfews. These laws are intended to lower the risk of car accidents and encourage teen drivers to drive safely. Teens between the ages of 15 (learner’s permit) and 17 are subject to curfew laws.

For the first three months after receiving a learner’s license, drivers are only allowed to operate a vehicle in daylight hours. Drivers with a learner’s permit can drive until ten at night after the initial three months. Learner’s permit holders are required to carry a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old with them at all times.

Between 11 pm and 6 am, 16-year-olds with valid driver’s licenses are not allowed to operate a vehicle. This rule is exempt if the driver is traveling to or from work or if another licensed driver who is at least 21 years old is present.

Between 1 am and 5 am, drivers must be at least 17 years old and have a valid driver’s license. Except when accompanied by a driver who is at least 21 years old or is traveling to and from work.

This update is brought to you by Hochman & Goldin, P.A. A Miami traffic attorney can assist you with criminal traffic violations, and our team is ready to answer your questions. Please call (305) 665-1000 to speak with a red light camera violation attorney.

Upload Ticket for Attorney Review

    Easier for you to text? Send a photo of the citation to (305) 990-8458.

    Disclaimer

    Uploading a ticket does not create an agreement of representation by our firm. You will receive confirmation that we have accepted your case and we will contact you for payment arrangements.