What Are the Consequences of Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Florida?

Hochman & Goldin blogLeaving the scene of an accident is referred to as the act of an individual involved in an auto accident leaving the scene without providing necessary information. Accidents can include property damage, injury, death, or a combination of the three. As mandated by Florida law, the information you must provide is your name and license, address, car registration, and car insurance. If there are severe injuries, the driver must attempt to give necessary support in access to urgent healthcare. You can also be penalized for not reporting damage.

 

In other words, leaving the scene of an accident is a hit-and-run accident.

 

If you are involved in an accident and you flee the scene, major penalties will follow. These may include jail time. However, depending on the damage, charges can include:

 

  • Accidents only involving property damage: up to 60 days in jail, six months of probation, and fines that may reach $500

  • Accidents where injury is also involved: five years in jail, five years of probation, and up to $5,000 in fines (this is considered a third-degree felony)

  • Accidents that resulted in death: up to 15 years in prison, 15 years of probation, fines that may reach close to $10,000

 

If involved in an accident, it is best to stay put until law enforcement shows up no matter how minor. You do not want to take on the penalties of fleeing the scene.

 

If you have a traffic ticket you would like to fight, such as a speeding ticket, contact a Miami traffic attorney. If you have reason to believe you unfairly received a red light ticket, contact a red light camera violation attorney.