Upgraded Florida Law Increases Penalties for Passing a School Bus

school-bus-4406479_1920It’s a new year which means new Florida laws have gone into effect. One of these laws is directly aimed at addressing the major issue of children losing their lives or suffering a serious injury due to vehicles illegally passing school buses while children are exiting the bus.

The penalties for passing a school bus are now double. With the newly upgraded law, failing to stop for a school bus now carries a minimum penalty of $200, up from $100. Should a driver commit a second offense within a five period, the license will be suspended for as long as a year.

Furthermore, anytime the school bus has its stop sign showing, the punishment for passing the school bus on the side where kids enter and exit is now a minimum of $400, up from $200. Should a second offense be made within five years, the person’s license may be suspended for as long as two years.

Cars driving in both directions must stop and wait while kids leave the bus when a school bus has its stop sign displayed. Drivers must continue to wait until the stop sign has been completely retracted by the school bus.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations, and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak about Miami civil traffic tickets.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.