Is Florida on your list of possible destinations? These days, it seems like everyone’s moving to the Sunshine State. Florida’s laws may be similar to those in other states, but there are a few things to be aware of to prevent a traffic ticket ruining your move.
Cell Phones and Driving
While it is not unlawful to use a cell phone to make a call while driving, it does make driving more unsafe. In Florida, however, texting while driving is prohibited. If you’re pulled over for texting, the first offense will result in a noncriminal traffic ticket. A second offense, however, will result in a moving violation. As a result, put your phone aside while driving to be safe.
The Move over Law in Florida
A “move over” statute exists in Florida, requiring cars to safely move over a lane for stopped police enforcement and emergency vehicles, as well as sanitation trucks, utility service vehicles and tow trucks. When you can’t change lanes, you must slow down 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit. If the posted speed limit is less than 20 mph, however, you must slow to 5 mph.
Motorists and Cyclists
The weather in Florida is ideal for cycling all year. As a result, most public roadways are shared by vehicles and bikers. Bicyclists must ride alongside automobiles because not every road has a designated bike lane. In addition, bicycles have the same rights and obligations on the road as motorists. In other words, bikers must adhere to the same traffic laws as motorists.