Florida’s Texting Laws and Fines

adult-blur-bokeh-car-230557Law enforcement officers have been cracking down on drivers that are failing to heed the state’s upgraded texting while driving laws that are now a primary offense. In school and work zones, the law is strictly enforced, meaning drivers may not be able to use their wireless communication device in a handheld manner. Hence, simply holding the phone to the ear may land a driver in trouble if they are caught.

It’s also worth noting that when it comes to fines in Miami-Dade County, for example, there is more to them than meets the eye. While a $30 fine may not seem like much, drivers may not realize that once the extra costs are added in, the seemingly inexpensive fine can ultimately end up costing about $129. On that note, a fine of $60 is more along the lines of $179. The final costs result in a much larger hit to the wallet.

Always remember to put the phone down and focus on the road, especially in a region like South Florida.

This update is brought to you by the Miami traffic ticket lawyer team of Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and are ready to answer your questions. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak with a Miami speeding ticket lawyer today.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Upload Ticket for Attorney Review

Easier for you to text? Send a photo of the citation to (305) 990-8458.

Disclaimer

Uploading a ticket does not create an agreement of representation by our firm. You will receive confirmation that we have accepted your case and we will contact you for payment arrangements.