If you drive while your license is suspended, you could face fines and possibly jail time, with escalating penalties for repeat offenders. The length of the driver’s license suspension is determined by the severity of the traffic infraction. For certain infractions, your license could be suspended for a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 1 year, or revoked for a minimum of 5 years and up to a permanent revocation. Driving while your license is suspended is a criminal crime that can result in a misdemeanor or possibly a felony depending on the circumstances.
If you are caught driving while your license is suspended in Florida, you should consider contacting an experienced Miami traffic ticket lawyer who is aware of the laws and arguments. Drivers with suspended licenses may be eligible for limited or “hardship” licenses in specific circumstances. They can drive while their license is suspended if they have this form of license. They are, however, banned from driving in specific areas and at certain times of the day with this license.
Driving With A Suspended License In Florida Has The Following Consequences:
- Your first offense could be a second-degree misdemeanor, carrying a maximum fine of $500 and a possible sentence of up to 60 days in jail.
- A second conviction might result in a first-degree misdemeanor, which carries a maximum fine of $1,000 and a possible sentence of up to one year in jail.
- A third or subsequent conviction might result in a third-degree felony, punishable by a $5,000 fine or up to five years in jail. Furthermore, a conviction for driving while license is suspended may result in additional suspension or revocation of your license.
Questions about other traffic violations? Contact a red light camera violation attorney.