Driving With a Suspended License Florida

Hochman BlogMost drivers in Florida will go their entire driving careers without ever worrying about a license suspension. License suspensions are often the result of serious charges such as driving under the influence (DUI) charges, being found at fault for major accidents, or even refusing to comply with a court order to attend driving school. Florida law takes license privileges seriously, so if you are unsure whether your traffic ticket may be cause for concern, contact a Miami traffic attorney right away.


It is illegal to drive with a suspended license, no matter the reason for suspension. Consequences are usually as follows:


  • First offense: second-degree misdemeanor and a 60-day jail sentence, along with a fine of up to $500.

  • Second offense: jail time of up to one year and fines up to $1,000

  • Third offense: third-degree felony charge, up to five years in prison, and fines of up to $5,000.


However, if you want to reinstate your driver’s license, you will need to follow the guidelines set forth by Florida law. Florida statutes allow drivers to earn their driving privileges back following a suspension. Requirements will depend on the conviction and whether or not it is your first, second, or third suspension.


The first step is, unfortunately, to wait out the suspension. You cannot get your driving privileges back unless your suspension is over. Your only other option is to apply for a hardship license, but not everyone is eligible. Next, you will need to enroll in an Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) course and complete any conditions that came with your charge, such as paying fines.


Major infractions typically cause license suspension, but if you are worried about your traffic violations, contact a red light camera violation attorney for help.


This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided during an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Upload Ticket for Attorney Review

    Easier for you to text? Send a photo of the citation to (305) 990-8458.


    Uploading a ticket does not create an agreement of representation by our firm. You will receive confirmation that we have accepted your case and we will contact you for payment arrangements.