Driving While License Suspended (DWLS)
There are two ways an officer can charge you with Driving While License Suspended (DWLS.)
The first way is Unknowingly. This is a civil infraction, and while it may not seem like it, it is considered a moving violation, and carries 3 points against your license if convicted. In addition, 3 convictions for DWLS within a 5 year period can lead to a 5 year driver license suspension. A ticket for DWLS, Unknowingly, should be defended in traffic court just as any other moving violation. Our fee for defending this ticket is $69, plus any court costs that may be imposed.
The second, and more serious charge is Knowingly DWLS. This is typically a Misdemeanor charge, although in some cases may be a Felony, which could have serious consequences on the status of your driver license and driving record. The charges will have a mandatory court date scheduled, typically in about 4 weeks from the date you were stopped. Our Criminal Traffic Violation Lawyers handle these type of cases so please call us if you have been charged with this offense. We also may be able to waive your personal appearance and attend the hearings on your behalf. Our fee for defense of this charge varies based on your individual circumstances. Please call our office so we may discuss your case with you.
Remember, 3 criminal DWLS entries on your driving record within a 5 year period will result in labeling you as a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) and your license will be suspended for a 5 year period.
One of the first questions to be asked when you are charged with DWLS is why was your license suspended in the first place? Is it due to unpaid tickets? An insurance suspension? Too many points? The answer to this question typically dictates how to defend the charges against you. Our consultation is always free so call us to discuss your case with us.
Florida law says you have committed Reckless Driving if you drive “any vehicle in a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property…”
Excessive speed, by itself, is not reckless driving. Neither is racing. The Judge is supposed to take into account all of the circumstances surrounding the incident to determine if the driver knew, or should have known that safety was compromised.
A reckless driving conviction may result in the court imposing the following penalties:
A first offense for Reckless driving is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
However, if the reckless driving caused property damage, the penalty is then increased to a first degree misdemeanor with a penalty of up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $1,000.
Penalties become more severe if this is your second offense for reckless driving.
Penalties also increase to felony charges if the reckless driving results in serious bodily injury, death, or if the use of alcohol was involved.
If you or someone you know has been arrested for reckless driving, please take a moment to call us for a free consultation regarding your case.
Reckless driving is not a charge to be taken lightly. While handled in Miami-Dade County as a ‘traffic court’ matter, it is a criminal misdemeanor or felony that may have serious consequences on your driving record and criminal history.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident (Hit and Run)
If you have been involved in an accident, Florida law requires you to stop and exchange names, address, registration and insurance information. In addition, you must render reasonable assistance for treatment of any injuries.
Besides exchanging information, you are require to report any accident where there is at least $500 of damage to the police department.
Failing to do so is a criminal charge which may be either a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the extent of damages/injuries as a result of the accident.
At minimum, an offense for leaving the scene of an accident is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
However, penalties become much more severe if the accident results in injuries or death.
If you or someone you know has been arrested for leaving the scene of an accident, please take a moment to call us for a free consultation regarding your case.