Tag Archives: miami civil traffic tickets

Learn More About the Move Over Law

towTruck

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At its simplest, the “Move Over” law requires drivers that are approaching stationary emergency vehicles to either move over a lane or slow down. Each state has some variation on the law, and we’ll be focusing on Florida.

Also known as Florida Statute 316.126, the Sunshine State’s Move Over Law was enacted in 2002 and obligates drivers to obey emergency vehicles that send audible or visible signs both on the way to emergencies and when stationary as they deal with emergencies along the roadside.

If an emergency vehicle that is en route to an accident approaches or is being approached, drivers are required to vacate the intersection, proceed to the nearest edge of the highway, and wait until the vehicle has passed. A driver must slow down speeds to under twenty miles below the posted speed limit when they need to pass a stationary emergency vehicle on a single-lane route or if they cannot change lanes while on a two-lane roadway.

Pedestrians must also understand the Move Over Law by yielding to emergency vehicles until the vehicles have passed and otherwise sticking to the right of way. This only changes if a law enforcement officer has instructed the pedestrian to do otherwise.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak about Miami civil traffic tickets.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Good News for Florida Drivers With Soon-to-Expire Licenses

i95Previously we told you how the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) has decided to suspend the acceptance of cash at the various tolls plazas found throughout the Florida Turnpike in response to the coronavirus. Recently, Governor Ron DeSantis and the FDOT director announced some news that may come as some relief to drivers with a soon-to-expire license.

A 30-day extension past their initial expiry date will be given to all Florida driver licenses, commercial driver’s licenses, and identification cards due to expire in the next 30 days. During the extension period, delinquent renewal fees will be waived.

Furthermore, Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is encouraging Floridians who can complete their electronic driver license or motor vehicle transactions online to do so, rather than in person at a driver’s license bureau. Floridians may use GoRenew.com to register a motor vehicle, renew their license, change their address, and much more.

Under normal circumstances, driving with an expired license in the state of Florida during the grace period may result in a $30 fine.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak about Miami civil traffic tickets.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Don’t Leave the Scene of an Accident

accident-1497295_1280February arrives next week, marking the beginning of “Hit and Run Awareness Month”. During this month, Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) is emphasizing to drivers the importance of remaining at the scene of an accident. Close to 25 percent of crashes in Florida are hit and run. Miami-Dade County also has the dubious honor of being number one in the state in these types of accidents.

Drivers should remember that leaving the scene of an accident is a crime that has severe consequences. For example, leaving the scene of a crash where property damage has occurred is a misdemeanor of the second degree and could lead to sixty days in jail as well as a fine of $500. If there are injuries, it becomes a felony of the second or third degree with consequences like having a license revoked for three years, spending five years in prison, and a much larger fine of $5,000. If there is a fatality, the crime becomes a first-degree felony and includes license revocation, at least four years in prison but as much as thirty, and an even larger fine of $10,000.

If you are involved in an accident, the best thing to do is remain at the scene and call for help. Besides being the law, it could save someone’s life.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak about Miami civil traffic tickets.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Stay Safe on the Roads During New Year’s

newYearsWith the New Year’s festivities set to commence, there will, unfortunately, be more drunk drivers on the road. The hours from 6 pm December 31st and 6 am on New Year’s Day are the most dangerous time of the year for drivers. Again, it is extremely important to have a designated driver if you’re planning on drinking. There are also various services South Floridians can use to make it home safely.

AAA will once again have its Tow-to-Go service up and running, aimed at making sure impaired drivers stay off the roads and make it to their destination safely. The free rides are available to everyone and will continue to operate through Thursday, January 2, 2020. The trucks can transport a total of two people but they cannot be scheduled in advance.

Besides AAA, ridesharing services like Uber will offer free rides of up to $10. Riders need to enter the code SAFERIDETPA which will remain valid from 9 pm Tuesday through 12:30 am on Wednesday.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak about Miami civil traffic tickets.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

What to Do at DUI Checkpoints

copsIf you’ve never encountered a DUI checkpoint, it’s worth knowing what you need to do in this scenario. Legally, you are required to stop as these checkpoints are considered reasonable search and seizure here in Florida. During these checkpoints, a police offer may stop you and request your license or they may ask that you take a sobriety test if there is a suspicion that you are under the influence.

For starters, DUI checkpoints need to be announced to the public, including the location and the date the checkpoint will be taking place. There are various apps or websites you can use to obtain this information. If you do approach the checkpoint, you have the option of refusing to do the field test if the officer requests that you do so because they believe you may be intoxicated. This test involves the customary standing on one leg, turning and walking, and the horizontal gaze test. If you do refuse this test, however, the refusal may be deemed suspicious. An officer may then request a breathalyzer which, if refused, carries immediate repercussions.

If involved in a DUI checkpoint, take it easy. Being irritable or worried may cause an officer to suspect something. Should an officer request that you exit the vehicle, do so. You don’t have to answer an officer’s questions. If you have been drinking, strongly consider requesting an attorney. Providing wrong answers may lead to incriminating yourself. Even if you decide to remain silent, show politeness and avoid confrontation.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticketlawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak about Miami civil traffic tickets.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Florida Keys Tolls to Increase

key-west-1553628_1280Will you be heading to the Florida Keys next month? Should you travel on Card Sound Road, expect to pay a teensy bit more in tolls than what you may have been accustomed to. Monroe County upped the toll for two-axle vehicles and trucks from its former fee of $1.50 to $1.54.

Card Sound Road is one of the two major roadways taking drivers to and from the Florida Keys from Miami-Dade County’s Florida City. It’s not traveled on as much as its the road, better known as US1 and its eighteen-mile stretch.

Up until August 2017, Monroe County still used a manned tollbooth, which was situated near Card Sound Bridge. The tollbooth had been around since the late 1960s, and tolls were a mere $1 before it was replaced by an electronic monitoring system the following year. This system collects tolls using Florida’s Toll-By-Plate and the popular SunPass. Toll-By-Plate users, however, must pay the toll plus a $2.50 administrative fee.

If you do a lot of traveling to the Florida Keys and drive a two-axle vehicle, you may wish to consider the $375 annual SunPass transponder pass expected to kick off next year.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak about Miami civil traffic tickets.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

What’s the Deal with Signing a Traffic Ticket?

ticket

Though the laws have remained largely the same for years now, there appears to still be some confusion when it comes to having to sign traffic tickets. While most drivers will sign a basic traffic ticket, they are not legally required to do so. In the past, however, drivers refusing to sign tickets could be arrested, but things have since changed.

Today’s basic traffic tickets have a small box near the bottom which a law enforcement officer will check off. This indicates and verifies that the officer did, in fact, deliver the ticket to the individual mentioned on the ticket. It serves as a way to potentially avoid an argument arising.

Some scenarios do require the driver to sign a ticket. Anything beyond a basic traffic ticket such as a criminal citation or a court summons requires a person to provide their John Hancock.

Drivers should always remember that signing a basic traffic ticket or any document does not constitute an admission of guilt.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak about Miami civil traffic tickets.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Kicking the Texting While Driving Habit

textDrive (2)Now that texting while driving is a primary offense in Florida, you may find yourself unintentionally using your phone to send a quick message. It’s a habit that may not be the easiest to break, but thankfully there are tools available to assist with avoiding a warning from an officer or being involved in an accident due to distracted driving.

Perhaps the easiest way to resist the urge to grab your phone is to use its built-in tools designed to prevent distractions. If you’re using an Android device, look for the “do not disturb” option in the sound settings menu. This option lets you choose what sounds to hear. For iPhones, the do not disturb option also lets you choose when you don’t wish to be disturbed, such as if and when the phone detects that you’re driving.

While the above options prevent sounds, you can take things a step further by using apps designed to prevent mobile phone use. One of these is a free option called LifeSaver that can detect when you’re driving and will prevent you from using your phone unless it is hands-free. AT&T has an app for Android users called DriveMode that silences alerts, responds to texts automatically to indicate you’re driving, and can also inform parents if it is turned off.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak about Miami civil traffic tickets.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Florida Bill Makes Bold Moves on Distracted Driving

distractedDrivingWhile Florida legislators look for ways to tackle texting and driving, another pair is looking to take things up a notch by also making it illegal to perform other actions such as applying makeup or even petting your pooch.

The state legislators believe Florida is in need of stricter laws when it comes to Florida’s roads. In order to ensure pedestrians and drivers are safe, the goal is to get rid of distractions when behind the wheel and concentrate solely on driving. Some of the examples of what would be considered illegal under the bill include reading, interacting with cargo that is unsecured, using a cell phone or any “personal wireless communications device”, writing, and the aforementioned pets and makeup. The bill also includes a clause mentioning “any other activity, conduct, task, or action that causes a distraction” that broadens the scope of what could be considered distracted driving.

It’s that clause that could lead to issues which could result in allowing a law enforcement officer to pull someone over for virtually any reason due to its subjective nature. For example, consuming food while driving could be construed as being distracted.

To read more, please visit https://www.tampabay.com/transportation/florida-lawmakers-target-no-nos-behind-the-wheel-texting-makeup-petting-your-dog-and-more-20190225/.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak about Miami civil traffic tickets.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.

Are South Florida Drives Getting Better?

drive-2When South Florida drivers are brought up in a conversation or in this case a blog, it’s usually for not so great reasons. Plenty of studies and surveys have been done reinforcing that these drivers are not the most exemplary and yet, new surveys suggest they may be better than most.

According to an online insurance comparison company, Florida is just outside the top ten when it comes to states with the best drivers. Additionally, the Sunshine State managed to come in ninth place for the safest drivers, in a different study by a mobile car repair company. However, this latter study also listed Florida in eighth place in terms of the states with the most congestion in the United States. Furthermore, Florida tied with Delaware when it came to the most aggressive drivers (7thplace).

Going back to the first survey, here’s another shocker: Miami holds the top two spot along with Orlando as one of the 75 safest cities for drivers in 2018. The placement was based on low DUI and speeding statistics.

If those studies sound hard to believe, it’s worth noting that the American Automobile Association states surveys are open to interpretation based on the factors that are being taken into account. Should you wish to read more, please visit https://www.sun-sentinel.com/news/transportation/fl-ne-florida-driver-ratings-20190126-story.html.

This update is brought to you by Miami traffic ticket lawyer Hochman & Goldin, P.A. We can assist you with criminal traffic violations and we are ready to answer your questions and help you fight your ticket. Please call 305-665-1000 to speak about Miami civil traffic tickets.

This information is provided for educational or informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice.